What are you afraid of?

I wandered through big cities by myself day and night, going to concerts and the movies when I was in my mid-teens.

When I was a teenager I quit high school one morning, got myself a factory job, and went home and told my parents.

I went on a television quiz show when I was 17 to make enough money to run away.

Instead of going to work, I took the train to another country, without telling my family beforehand

A country whose language I didn’t speak very well and where I knew no-one.

After working many menial jobs I applied to a famous university and got accepted after finishing high school in evening classes.

I moved to New York City where I knew no-one.

I studied art in my thirties even though I didn’t have a background in art.

I’ve photographed almost a hundred strangers whom I found on the internet.

I regularly present to large audiences, CEOs and senior business leaders.

I quit my job a few years ago and started a freelance career even though I am the main breadwinner in my family.

I’m no daredevil. But I have no fear of big decisions and big changes.

So why the hell am I so deadly afraid of putting on even just a couple of pounds?

Crazy, irrational, self-destructive, bizarre, ridiculous fear.

What are you afraid of?

2575907040_119407ea7c

5 thoughts on “What are you afraid of?

  1. Falling. Not heights, but rather the sensation of falling. Which means that in spite of living in a place where winter sports are big, I never really learned to skate, and you couldn’t pay me to get on a pair of downhill skis. I don’t even like walking on icy surfaces. There’s no way I would ever want to try bungee jumping, and swinging bridges are no fun. But I can stand at the top of a tall building and look down without any anxiety, as long as the floor beneath my feet feels solid.

  2. Most of my fears are of the irrational variety, and like you, I don’t fear change or major decisions. I fear bees, food (my kids have allergies) and psychopaths taking out their rage at a shopping mall

  3. Very interesting to say the least. I admire you for what you are. Life is to be lived to the fullest and if you don’t give life a chance your bag of regrets become hard to haul around. It seems you have had your fair share of adventure. Thanks for sharing it with those of us who appreciate it.

  4. I have a fear of deep waters and submerging my head under water. I never really had an experience of drowning and I generally like being around water. I can almost imagine myself swimming and feeling free, floating in the water.
    But I still could not overcome this fear.

What do you think?

