Unquantified, for right now

It didn’t feel right to just let this site sit unattended for so many months.

For right now, it has served its purpose.

I kicked my tracking habit, mostly. I still use my FitBit on days when I work, to make sure I walk around six miles a day. That’s really to make sure I get enough sunlight and balance out all that sitting at a desk. While I could just estimate the distances, using the FitBit means I don’t have to count blocks.

I no longer do any of the other tracking and my life hasn’t fallen apart in any way, shape or form. I’ve traveled more this year, done more, gone to more concerts, read more, explored more, lived more.

The other impetus for The Unquantified Self was my annoyance with the idea that somehow devices would save our health, and bring about some gigantic sea change where we all change our habits, diagnose our problems and fix them ourselves. This idea has mostly lost traction. And more, all the overhyped tech is in retreat. Nike’s Fuel Band is quitting. The Apple Watch is no longer sold on its abilities to self-track. There’s increasing awareness that most people don’t stick with tracking and those who do are the worried well, not the sick. And those who track have realized that their data isn’t particularly useful in pinpointing the causes of any problems. The whole ‘movement’ has lost steam – going out with a whimper rather than a bang.

So for right now, I don’t feel like I have a ton to add.

But if I do notice anything particularly annoying, I’ll call it out.